Community Rating System

The National Flood Insurance Program's (NFIP) Community Rating System (CRS) was implemented in 1990 as a program for recognizing and encouraging community floodplain management activities that exceed the minimum NFIP standards.  Under the CRS, flood insurance premium rates are adjusted to reflect the reduced flood risk resulting from community activities that meet the three goals of the CRS:

1.  Reduce flood damage to insurable property;

2.  Strengthen and support the insurance aspects of the NFIP; and

3.  Encourage a comprehensive approach to floodplain management.


There are ten CRS classes.  Class 1 requires the most credit points and gives the largest premium reduction and Class 10 receives no premium reduction:

CRS Class Credit Points  Premium Reduction 
 Inside SFHA Outside SFHA
1 4,500+ 45% 10%
2 4,000-4,499 40% 10%
3 3,500-3,999 35% 10%
4 3,000-3,499 30% 10%
5 2,500-2,999 25% 10%
6 2,000-2,499 20% 10%
7 1,500-1,999 15% 5%
8 1,000-1,499 10% 5%
9 500-999 5% 5%
10 0-499 0 0
SFHA: Zones A, AE, A1-A30, V, V1-V30, AO, and AH
Outside the SFHA: Zones X, B, C, A99, AR, and D
Preferred Risk Policies (PRPs) are not eligible for CRS premium reductions
because they already have premiums lower than other policies. PRPs are
available only in B, C, and X Zones for properties that are shown to have a moderate-
to low-risk of flood damage. Minus-rated policies are not eligible for CRS premium
reductions. Premium reductions are subject to change.

The CRS recognizes 19 creditable activities, organized into 4 categories, for Public Information (Series 300), Mapping and Regulations (Series 400), Flood Damage Reduction (Series 500), and Warning and Response (Series 600).

The City of Casper is currently a Class 9 community, which provides a 5% discount on eligible flood insurance premiums.  For more information on the CRS program, please visit